Adidas focused articles header
Category > FAQ > Page Uploaded: 13/04/16

Q: UK / British athletes currently sponsored by Adidas

A The following UK athletes are currently sponsored by Adidas:

United Kingdom: Jade Johnson: Long jumper who competed at the 2004 and 2008 Summer Olympics.
United Kingdom: Jessica Ennis: British national heptathlon record holder and Olympic gold medal winner.
United Kingdom: Christine Ohuruogu: 400 metres runner who won gold at the 2008 Summer Olympics.
United Kingdom: Chris Tomlinson: Long jumper; finished 3rd place 2010 Barcelona Euro Championships.
United Kingdom: Shana Cox: 200 metres and 400 metres runner and indoor specialist.
United Kingdom: Tiffany Porter: 100 m hurdles runner who has won medals at multiple international events.

Due to the low overall profile of athletics - apart from when the Olympics are held - it is difficult to provide a full list of UK athletes who Adidas sponsor. Rarely do UK athletes launch prominent Adidas marketing campaign's; the exception being Jessica Ennis, the 'face' of UK athletics, and who regularly features in online Adidas promotional videos. Mo Farah, the only UK athlete to rival Ennis in terms of popularity, is sponsored by Nike. Adidas have historically sponsored athletes, the founder of the company, Adolf Dassler, sponsored Jessie Owens at the 1936 Berlin Summer Olympic Games. Adidas have sponsored the following all-time 'great' athletes: Wilma Rudolph, Dick Fosbury, Edwin Moses, and Donovan Bailey. Present day international athletes that Adidas currently sponsor - who are not British - include: Craig Mottram, Shaunae Miller, Haile Gebrselassie, Veronica Campbell-Brown, Javier Culson, Tyson Gay, Jessica Beard, and Kadri Ndreu.