Adidas focused articles header
Category > FAQ > Page Uploaded: 15/03/16

Q: Major League Soccer (MLS) sponsorship deal with Adidas

A Major League Soccer (MLS) is a professional football league based in the United States of America, and also incorporates teams based in Canada. The league was founded in 1993, and was founded to coincide with the hosting of the 1994 FIFA World Cup; held in the United States. It is not the first time that a professional soccer league has been founded in the United States, but it is the longest lasting and the most successful attempt to date. The league currently includes 20 teams: Chicago Fire, Columbus Crew, D.C. United Washington, Montreal Impact Montreal, New England Revolution, New York City FC, New York Red Bulls, Orlando City, Philadelphia Union, Toronto FC, Colorado Rapids, FC Dallas, Houston Dynamo, LA Galaxy, Portland Timbers, Real Salt Lake, San Jose Earthquake, Seattle Sounders, Sporting Kansas City and the Vancouver Whitecaps FC. The league is currently divided into a western and eastern conference, comprised of ten teams each, and there are plans to expand the amount of teams in the league. The MLS signed a ten year $150 million sponsorship deal with Adidas in 2005: this deal ensured that Adidas manufactured the kit of every team that played in the MLS and also provided the matchball for every game played in the MLS. It is common for sports in the United States of America to sell kit manufacturing deals for the whole league, rather than individual teams agreeing kit deals; which is the case in Europe and most other national football leagues.